History of Alfalfa County

 Alfalfa County was formed in 1907 from Woods County, Oklahoma originally called M County. The county is named after William H. "Alfalfa Bill" Murray. 


William Henry Davis "Alfalfa Bill" Murray,

Probably Oklahoma's most colorful political figure, William Murray was born November 21,1869, in Collinsville, Texas. At twenty years of age he graduated from College Hill Institute in Springtown, Texas. For the next six years he held various jobs, including day laborer, teacher, editor of a Dallas farm magazine, and of a Corsicana daily newspaper. Admitted to the Bar in 1895, he practiced at Fort Worth before moving to Tishomingo, Indian Territory, in 1898. There he became legal advisor to the Governor of the Chickasaw Nation. He was President of the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention in 1906; Speaker of the House of Representatives, 1907-1908; Member of the Sixty-third and Sixty-fourth United States Congresses; and Governor of the State from January 12, 1931, to January 15, 1935. At his urging, the Legislature created the Oklahoma Tax Commission. His ranching interests spread from Oklahoma to Bolivia, South America, where he established a colony. He wrote articles and books, mostly dealing with constitutional rights. He died October 15, 1956

The William H. Murray Collection at Carl Albert Center. 

At the constitutional convention before statehood in 1907 Woods County was divided becoming  Alfalfa County, Major County and Woods County.  

Major Andrew Drumm  helped form the Cherokee Livestock Association. The Association leased land from the Indians to graze cattle on. This land was located in what is now Alfalfa County.

Alfalfa county is located in land that was part of  The Cherokee Outlet/Cherkee Strip   . The land was opened for settlement with the land run Sept. 16th 1893.  

More History on The Cherokee Strip/Outlet Debate

ITGENWEB-The Cherokee Strip/Outlet   - The Cheokee Strip-Ponca City News - http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ok/state/outlet/strip.html


Towns in Alfalfa County still listed on the 2005 Map of Oklahoma are:

  • Aline,
  • Amorita,
  • Burlington,
  • Byron,
  • Carmen,
  • Cherokee,
  • Driftwood,
  • Goltry, 
  • Helena,
  • Jet, 
  • Ingersol, 
  • Lambert, 
  • McWillie
  • Yewed.


Page Last Updated: 5.17.2013


Alfalfa County Coordinator
Marty Myers


1996 to Present - All Right Reserved
OKGenWeb Copyright Notice:

The creator copyrights ALL files on this site. The files may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from the Haskell County OKGenWeb Coordinator and their creator. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc. are. It is, however, permissible to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

USGenWeb Copyright Policy
It is the policy of The USGenWeb Project to obtain permission from the creator of the code, graphics, and backgrounds before using them on our pages unless they have been placed in the public domain.