Hughes County



Hughes county is located in southeastern Oklahoma, and is bordered by Okfuskee county on the north, McIntosh county on
the northeast, Pittsburg county on the southeast, Pontotoc county on the southwest and Seminole county on the northwest.

At the turn of the 21st century incorporated towns included:
Atwood, Calvin, Dustin, Gerty, Lamar, Spaulding, Stuart, Wetumpka, Yeager and the county seat, Holdenville.

Hughes County was carved out of lands belonging to the Creek and Choctaw Nations.
Originally founded in 1895 and named Fentress. The town site was named for J. H. Holden, general manager of the Choctaw, Oklahoma and Gulf Railroad.
Organized at statehood in 1907, the county was named for William C. Hughes, Oklahoma City lawyer and member of the constitutional convention...more


American War Dads 

Book Indexes


Calvin Census 

Civil War  Burials

Funeral Home Records

Marriage Records











OKGenWeb Research Sources

OKGenWeb Maps N More
OKGenWeb Resource Page
OK Family Reunions
OKGenWeb Success Stories

No Man's Land - Oklahoma Territory
Native American Research Project
The Unassigned Lands of Oklahoma Territory

Linda Simpson

2014 - Present
All Rights Reserved

Updated 7/2/2020


eXTReMe Tracker