Jefferson County, Oklahoma    


Jefferson County Home || Oklahoma Resources || Oklahoma Counties


A part of
Jefferson Co. OKGenWeb
Jefferson County Coordinator

 County Coordinator



Jefferson County

Was named for President Thomas Jefferson, It was created in 1907 from a portion of Comanche County in Oklahoma Territory and the southwestern corner of the Chickasaw Nation. A marker on S.H. 70 in Waurika, the county seat, designates the 98th Meridian, the dividing line between Indian Territory and Oklahoma Territory.

map of Jefferson Co. Okla

county seat

Waurika, meaning "camp of clear water", was built at the junction of
Beaver and Cow creeks, and is the site of Waurika Lake. Landmarks
 include the
Rock Island Railroad Depot in Waurika,  built in 1912.

Jefferson Co. courthouse
Jefferson County Courthouse

Other Communities
Towns in Jefferson County are Addington, Asphaltum, Atlee, Cornish,
Fleetwood, Grady, Hastings, Irving, Oscar, Petersburg, Ringling, Ryan,
 Sugden, Terral, and Waurika.

Ghost Towns
Aspaltum, Atlee, Claypool, Fleetwood, Keith, Petersburg,  and Sugden. 
for more info on these towns visit
The Rocker Box website.

Jefferson County was formed from
part of
Comanche County
and part of the
Chickasaw Nation.

Visit our county neighbors

Cotton County, Okla.

Stephens County, Okla.

Carter County, Okla.

Love County, Okla.

Clay County, Texas

Montague County, Texas 

The TXGenWeb Project

Jefferson County Mail List

Search -   Jefferson County mail list archives:

Browse - Jefferson Co. OK mail list archives:

Rebecca York, Sheridan Brandon Drowatzky,
Kim Collins, Dick
and ALL
other persons who have made contributions to this site

Adopt an OKGenWeb county or project

march 2001 award of excellence
presented to
Rebecca York


Search this site powered by FreeFind

 County Coordinator

This page last updated Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Copyright 2004 -2024
County Coordinator