This Johnston County website is  available for adoption.
If you would like to be the coordinator for this site, Please contact:
Linda Simpson, State Coordinator or
Mel Owings, Assistant Coordinator

Johnston County was created, at statehood, in 1907 and wass named for Douglas H. Johnston, governor of the Chickasaw Nation. It is located in southern Oklahoma and covers 645 square miles. The county seat is Tishomingo. The Chickasaw capitol building built in 1896 became the county courthouse. Johnston County was the home of  William H. "Alfalfa Bill" Murray and Johnston Murray, father and son governors of Oklahoma.It was also the home of entertainer Gene Autry.

old courthouse
Old Johnson County Courthouse
courtesy of Butch Bridges

Our Towns
Bromide, Mannsville, Milburn, Mill Creek, Ravia, Wapanucka

& Communities
Bee, Bromide Junction, Coleman, Connerville, Earl, Emet, Fillmore, Folsom, Nida, Pontotoc, Reagan, Russett, Troy

Our surrounding counties:
Atoka Bryan Carter Coal Marshall Murray Pontotoc